Book online

From: 
nights: 
adults:
Search »
English English
by Orient-Express
Next photograph
Inn at Perry Cabin, St Michaels, Maryland

The History of St. Michaels

The historic town of St Michaels dates back to the mid-1600s when it served as a trading post for area tobacco farmers and trappers. In 1677 the Christ Episcopal Church of St Michael Archangel parish was founded in present day St. Michaels. In 1778 a British land agent, James Braddock, purchased 20 acres and deeded 58 lots. This created St. Mary's Square, the historic center of St. Michaels. To this day, this charming seaside resort town reflects its colonial past, as many of the area's homes date from the late 1700s to the late 1800s.

During the War of 1812, St. Michaels gained its name as "the town that fooled the British". The residents of St. Michaels, having been forewarned that British barges were positioned on the waters to attack with cannon fire, hoisted lanterns into the trees above the city. This first successful "blackout" fooled the British into overshooting the town's houses and shipyards. Only one house, forever since known as Cannonball House, was struck.

Throughout the 1800s and early 1900s, St. Michaels was a Chesapeake Bay economy focused primarily around the shipbuilding and seafood processing and packing industries. Only in the last 30 years has the economy of St. Michaels shifted to a tourism concentration.

St. Michaels is the center of a unique and magical waterworld on Maryland's fabled Eastern Shore, about halfway between the Susquehanna source and the Atlantic mouth of the Chesapeake Bay. This diminutive well-preserved vintage port, whose origins date from the birth of the colonies, is nestled between the loping Miles River on the north and the vast vistas of Michener's Broad Creek to the south. Its influence radiates beyond Tilghman Island, Easton and Oxford to Washington, Baltimore, Wilmington and other points on the compass where our seafood trucks deliver the Chesapeake's bounty on a daily basis and the word spreads about this magnificent region.

The Inn at Perry Cabin was built by Purser Samuel Hambleton, aide-de-camp to Naval Commodore Oliver Hazard Perry, just after the War of 1812. Hambleton retired to St Michaels in 1816 and designed the north wing of the manor house to resemble Perry's cabin on the flagship Niagara. The English crown endowed one of its original land grants upon Davenport which is now the present site of The Inn at The Inn at Perry Cabin.

The property's history includes transformation from private home to working farm to a riding academy in 1952. In 1980, the Meyerhoff family, owners of 1979 Kentucky Derby winner Spectacular Bid, transformed this Greek revival-style home into a six-bedroom inn and restaurant. In 1989 this charming house was restored and expanded by Sir Bernard Ashley to include 41 bedrooms and suites as well as an award-winning dining room. In 1999, Orient-Express purchased the property and completed a $20 million expansion and improvement project.

 

Features & Offers

Suite Escape

Suite Escape

Book one of our luxurious Master Suites and receive a 15% discount off our best available rate. More »
Winter Indulgence

Winter Indulgence

Treat yourself to home-style warmth and supreme luxury on the Chesapeake Bay.  More »
Email Newsletter

Email Newsletter

Sign up to receive all the latest news and special offers from The Inn at Perry Cabin.  More »
Location

Location

The Inn at Perry Cabin is located in St. Michaels on Maryland's Eastern Shore.  More »
Linden Spa

Linden Spa

Choose from a full range of spa services that focus on pampering, rejuvenation and wellness. More »
Weddings

Weddings

The Inn at Perry Cabin makes for an impressive and unique location for a destination wedding. More »
Interactive Tour

Interactive Tour

Take a tour of the Inn at Perry Cabin's grounds.  More »
Gift Certificates

Gift Certificates

Our gift certificates can be used for a stay, spa treatment, lunch or dinner, afternoon tea or drinks. More »